2019 Regional EMS Award Winners

With great pleasure, the Northern Virginia EMS Council announces the recipients of the 2019 Regional EMS Awards.  The award recipients were selected by their Northern Virginia peers for their performance in emergency medical services.  Congratulations to all nominees and award winners for being recognized for your continued contributions to Northern Virginia EMS!


Byron F. Andrews, III,  Deputy Chief of EMS Operations for Alexandria Fire Department receives the 2019 Northern Virginia Regional Award for Excellence in EMS. 

This award is bestowed upon an individual who exemplifies outstanding dedication to EMS across Northern Virginia and demonstrates a commitment to a comprehensive, integrated EMS system throughout the Commonwealth.  Over his 40-year career in Virginia’s EMS system, Deputy Chief Andrews has demonstrated a high level of commitment to his community, the region, state, and EMS at a national and international level. In all his roles and capacity, he has demonstrated the ability to organize, conduct, manage, problem-solve, inspire and evaluate the performance of an EMS system of excellence. Deputy Chief Andrews has an extensive list of accolades including having been appointed to two separate terms on the Governor's EMS Advisory Board, has served as adjunct faculty for a variety of educational institutions, served on the Northern Virginia EMS Council Board of Directors for over 30 years, as the District Vice President of the Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads, and has won a variety of awards including the Silver Medal Valor Award, Lifesaving Award, Meritorious Service Award, EMS Provider of the Year, and both the Northern Virginia Regional and Virginia Governor's EMS Award for Outstanding EMS Administrator Award. Because of his tireless commitment to successful and progressive EMS systems locally, regionally, and internationally, Byron Andrews is the recipient of the 2019 Northern Virginia Regional Award for Excellence in EMS.



EMS awards for outstanding contributions to their community and Northern Virginia’s EMS system include:

  • Award for Excellence in EMS – Byron F. Andrews, III, Deputy Chief Alexandria Fire Department and Chief (Emeritus) Sterling Rescue Squad

Andrews B


  • Award for Outstanding EMS Administrator – Battalion Chief Anne Marsh - Arlington County Fire Department

 Marsh 2


  • Award for Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Dan Avstreih, MD, Associate Operational Medical Director – Fairfax County Fire Department



  • Award for Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Meghan Bozzelli, BSN, RN, CEN, Emergency Department Patient Care Coordinator - Virginia Hospital Center        

Meghan Bozzelli VHC


  • Award for Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator – Susan Truba - Loudoun County Fire & Rescue



  • Award for Outstanding Pre-Hospital Provider Lieutenant Bruce Ruggeri - City of Fairfax Fire Department

Ruggeri Picture


  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety - Captain II Donald Watkins - Arlington County Fire Department

 Watkins 1


  • Award for Outstanding EMS Agency – Ashburn Volunteer Fire & Rescue Department

 ashburn patch square2


  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS Telecommunication – Firefighter/Paramedic Joseph "Jody" Marker, Jr -  Arlington County Fire Department



  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response – Firefighter/Paramedic Taylor Blunt - Arlington County Fire Department

 Blunt 2  


  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1000 Scholarship) - Michael Probst - Loudoun County Volunteer Rescue Squad


This fall, the Northern Virginia Regional EMS Awards recipients along with honorees from Virginia’s 10 other regional EMS councils will be considered for the Governor’s EMS awards.  The Governor’s Awards winners will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium in Norfolk in early November.

Back To Top Website Security Test